Calendars

My step-daughter and I love to make crafts, so I am always trying to find new and interesting things for us to make. This is one was so fun, easy and has a practical application.

Every year I go on a mad hunt to find THE calendar for the coming year. One that’s pretty, unique and well-laid out. I couldn’t find any that appealed to me. This gave me the mad inspiration to make my own.

I love to do scrapbooking, so I have a few supplies around. I decided that they would make lovely backings for the calendar pages. I also used 3D stickers and jewel embellishments that I found at the Dollar Store, as well as a metallic marker. You can use whatever appeals to you and make it your own!20160501_185930-1

To start, I went online and found some blank calendars. That part can be a bit time-consuming. Much of the calendar pages are colored or the wrong size or direction.  You may want to consider using MS word to draft your own. I decided to do just 4 months at a time, so I printed out the ones I needed. I took two and my step-daughter took two. I set the supplies between us and told her to do what she wants.  Using Elmer’s glue, I secured the printed calendar to the scrapbook page and pressed it across and down, making sure it was as flat as I could get it.

Once that was done, I decorated! There’s no right or wrong way to do this, just go with your gut. I used the metallic marker to make the month title pop and used the jewel embellishments to mark birthdays on the calendars and sparkle to the pages. next, I used the 3D stickers to give extra glamor and pop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once they were dried, we hung them up on the wall with thumb tacks. We both had so much fun making these, I can’t wait to make the next set!

Leave a Reply

